Skip to content
essento, delicious insects

Insect Tuesday

Navigate Blog

Today is Tuesday. But not any Tuesday, today is World Edible Insect Day und the first Insect Tuesday!

World Edible Insect Day

The 23rd of October is “World Edible Insect Day”, the global day (of action) for edible insects. That day, numerous events and activities with the motto “Taste the Change” are taking place annually. Fans share their enthusiasm for insects.

There are many reasons for eating insects: They offer high-quality protein, many vitamins and essential minerals. They are incredible tasty and are an interesting enrichment in our kitchen. The ecological potential is another reason, why insects as a protein source is inevitable: The water consumption for 1 kg insect meat is 15’500 smaller compared with 1kg beef (cf. Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung, Fleischatlas 2018).

If you eat insects instead of meat once a week, you can save more than 100’000 litre of water per year.

Insects can be farmed with very little resources and eaten almost completely. Additionally, insects can be fed with side products from other food processes, like wheat bran, draff or carrot greens. So, insects transform food waste that is not edible into edible food, yeah!!!

Eating insects on Insect Tuesday

There are enough reasons for eating insects – but when? You might already eat vegetarian on Meatless Monday and fish on Friday. Well then, how about eating insects on Tuesday?

Let us start together on the World Edible Insect Day and from now on eat insect together every Tuesday.

Why are we doing that?

We at Essento are committed to creating a positive impact for your health and our planet. In Europe, the consumption of insects compared to conventional meat is still low. In Europe, the consumption of insects compared to conventional meat is still low. Through our engagement for the Insect Tuesday , we want to offer a framework to consciously deal with entomophagy.

Why should you participate?

It’s good for you:
Insects are nutritous, well digestable, delicious and give you a good mood.*

It’s good for the future:
We are able to establish insects as a food in Europe thanks to your support. Thereby we can create a better future for ourselves and for future generation.

*It is not (yet) proven scientifically that insects give a good mood. We always have fun when eating insects and we enjoy the great variety of menus, which we can create with insects. 🙂

Let’s enjoy insects together!

What we are doing

We support our community to regularly eat insects on Tuesday. We have asked you and we are listening: For many people it is important that the prices of insects are lower in order to encourage them to eat insects on a more regular basis. After a year of hard work, we are finally able to offer insects at a lower price since 2018 – hooray!

Good-News: Insects finally cheaper!

Moreover, we are in discussion with restaurants and canteens, who are interested in participating on Insect Tuesday. For all the latest news, follow us on Facebook or on Instagram.

What you can do

1. On Tuesdays, enjoy a delicious insect lunch with your colleagues or invite your family and friends to a Locusta skewer in the evening. This gives you the possibility to exchange experiences with insects, share ideas for recipes and enjoy. Our recipes are available here.

2. Talk with the chef of your canteen or your favourite restaurant about Insect Tuesday and ask, whether they want to offer a meal with insects once a week. How about insect balls in a wrap or a Cesar’s salad with Locusta instead of chicken?

3. Spread the word: Share a beautiful insect food picture or post your favourite receipt away on social media with #insecttuesday.

PS. Don’t worry, you are still allowed to eat insects on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and even Sunday 😉


What’s next?

Shopping Bag

Zum Hauptinhalt wechseln
essento, delicious insects

Insect Tuesday

Navigate Blog

Heute ist Dienstag. Aber nicht irgendein Dienstag, denn heute ist der World Edible Insect Day und der erste Insect Tuesday!

World Edible Insect Day

Der 23. Oktober ist der „World Edible Insect Day“, der weltweite (Aktions-)Tag für essbare Insekten. Seitdem finden jährlich an diesem Tag zahlreichen Events und Aktivitäten unter dem Motto „Taste the Change“ statt, an denen Insekten-Fans ihre Begeisterung für die Sechsbeiner teilen.

Es gibt viele gute Gründe Insekten zu essen: Sie enthalten hochwertiges Protein, viele Vitamine und essentielle Mineralien. Sie schmecken einfach unglaublich lecker und sind eine spannende Bereicherung in unserer Küche. Das nachhaltige Potential ist ein weiterer Grund, welches Insekten als Proteinquelle für uns unumgänglich macht: Der Wasserverbrauch für die Produktion von 1 kg Insektenfleisch und 1 kg Rindfleisch steht im Verhältnis 1:15’500 (vgl. Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung, Fleischatlas 2018).

Wenn du also einmal wöchentlich statt Fleisch Insekten isst, kannst du jährlich über 100’000 Liter Wasser sparen!

Insekten können sehr ressourcenschonend gezüchtet werden und fast vollständig verzehrt werden. Zudem kann man sie mit Resten aus der Lebensmittelproduktion füttern, wie z.B. Kleie, Biertreber oder Karottengrün. So werden aus diesen teils ungeniessbaren Reststoffen wieder essbare Lebensmittel, yeah!!

Insekten essen am Insect Tuesday

Gründe gibt es also genug, Insekten zu essen – aber wann? Donnerstags isst du immer vegetarisch und Freitags Fisch. Wie wäre es dann Dienstags mit Insekten?

Lass uns heute am World Edible Insect Day gemeinsam starten und ab sofort Dienstags zusammen Insekten essen.

Warum machen wir das?

Wir von Essento haben uns zum Ziel gesetzt, einen positiven Beitrag mit essbaren Insekten für Mensch und Umwelt zu schaffen. Die europaweit konsumierten Mengen an Insekten sind im Vergleich zum konventionellen Fleischkonsum immer noch gering. Mit dem Insect Tuesday wollen wir einen Tag und Raum schaffen, an dem wir uns alle bewusst mit dem Insektenessen auseinandersetzen können.

Warum solltest du mitmachen?

Tu etwas Gutes für DICH:
Insekten sind gesund, gut verdaulich, schmecken lecker und machen gute Laune.*

Tu etwas Gutes für die Zukunft:
Durch deine Unterstützung schaffen wir es, dass sich Insekten als Lebensmittel etablieren. Damit schaffen wir eine bessere Welt für uns und künftige Generationen.

*Es ist wissenschaftlich (noch) nicht erwiesen, dass Insekten gute Laune machen. Uns selbst macht es immer super viel Spass Insekten zu essen und wir freuen uns riesig über die vielfältigen Gerichte, die wir mit Insekten zaubern können. 🙂

Lasst uns losessen!

Was machen wir?

Wir unterstützen unsere Community darin, regelmässig am Dienstag Insekten zu essen. Wir haben euch gefragt und zugehört: Für viele müssen Insekten erschwinglicher sein, um sie regelmässiger zu essen. Nun haben wir über ein Jahr lang daran gearbeitet, Insekten für euch günstiger anbieten zu können – endlich ist es soweit!!

Good-News: Insekten endlich günstiger!

Zudem sind wir in Gesprächen mit Restaurant-Partnern und Kantinen, die am Insect Tuesdays interessiert sind und mitmachen möchten. Für aktuellen News folge einfach unserer Facebookseite oder unserem Instagram-Account.

Wie kannst du mitmachen?

1. Geniesse Dienstags mit den Kollegen ein leckeres Insekten-Zmittag oder lade abends deine Familie oder WG-Gspändli auf ein paar Heuschreckenspiessli ein. Dabei könnt ihr euch über eure Erfahrungen mit Insekten austauschen, Rezeptideen teilen und geniessen. Rezepte von uns findest du hier.

2. Sprich deinen Kantinenchef oder dein Lieblings-Restaurant auf den Insect Tuesday an, damit auch sie diesem Tag der Woche ein Insekten-Gericht anbieten. Wie wäre es zum Beispiel mit Insect Balls im Falafelwrap oder einem Ceasar’s Salad mit Heuschrecken statt Poulet?

3. Sag es weiter: Teile deine schönsten Insektenfood-Bilder oder verrate dein Lieblingsrezept auf Social Media mit dem Hashtag #insecttuesday.

PS. Natürlich kannst du weiterhin auch Montags, Mittwochs, Donnerstags, Freitags, Samstags und Sonntags Insekten essen 😉


Mehr dazu?